For a FREE Quote Click Here

EDMAR Corporation – Chicago Masonry Contractor Reviews by Yelp Users

We have listed some of our customer testimonials below. You can read them directly on Yelp by clicking Yelp’s small icon at the bottom of each testimonial.

Not sure if your masonry building requires servicing?

Call 1-847-724-5600

All Estimates are Always FREE

Rick B. Avatar
Rick B.

5 star rating We had several issues to address, including retaining walls, parging, tuckpointing and replacing old lintels.  Ed came out to review and estimate, was very thorough and explained everything in language I could understand.  He was price competitive.  The crew was very focused and did an outstanding job.  Finished product looks great.  

We have reached out to Edmar with additional work.  Being a repeat customer shows our confidence and satisfaction in Edmar.  - 10/20/2015

Emily R. Avatar
Emily R.

5 star rating Highly recommend. Ed came out, gave us a quote and started our project all very quickly. His crew kept the area very clean and did high quality work. Will only use them for future masonry projects.  - 4/20/2015

Paul P. Avatar
Paul P.

5 star rating Excellent work. Work was done in 2 days. Walkway was re pitched to align better with stoop (which showed large cracks at base where walkway previously met). Because of walkway dipped over time, stoop was really high. Now it aligns to correct height.  - 10/11/2017

John F. Avatar
John F.

5 star rating Edmar Corporation Masonry was contracted for three projects on an industrial building in the City. The first project was to rebrick part of a doorway that had been damaged by a forklift. His price was reasonable and the work was done properly. The second was tuck pointing  and water sealing an exterior wall.  The price was reasonable and the work was done just as I had requested. The third project was a difficult one, it required scaffolding and high up work that was quite difficult to get to. It required rebricking. Again his price was reasonable and the work was done properly. All work was completed  quickly. I had other quotes for much more money and some contractors  trying to upsell me for more work that they promoted as necessary. I was satisfied  with Edmar and have just given this company another project. When I find a worthy contractor I stick with him/her. Edmar is worthy.

John F  - 10/13/2014

Elizabeth S. Avatar
Elizabeth S.

5 star rating We had a wonderful experience with Edmar. We needed a level of brick and capstone removed from our rooftop - the job was completed in less than a day with a team of 3. They were prompt, professional and did an excellent job. We'd absolutely recommend them for your next project.  - 3/22/2016

thomas g. Avatar
thomas g.

5 star rating So happy. These guys were fast and friendly and clean. I collected many quotes. Edmar Corporation was the lowest $ with the highest rating in work... A+ by the BBB. Fair price. Great work. What more could I ask? Having been given the run around by many contractors over the years, it's such a wonderful thing to have this kind of experience and have that good "homeowner feeling" when a job is done right. They even decided to start taking credit cards, which made it possible to get this job done now. My brick foundation looks great and I have peace of mind.  - 5/17/2014

O A. Avatar
O A.

5 star rating Edmar did some work for our condo building.  He gave us an honest quote for the work that needed to be done, and did not add unnecessary upcharges that other masonry contractors said we needed.  The owner of the firm came out himself multiple times to ensure that the work was done correctly. He personally guaranteed his work, and when we had an issue some time later he came out and fixed it at no cost.  He is a man of his word and I highly recommend using Edmar.  - 7/05/2018

Cecil S. Avatar
Cecil S.

5 star rating I needed some tuckpointing done on a condo I manage in Chicago and called Edmar for a quote through a mutual friend that had used Edmar and spoke very highly of him.

He was VERY professional and you could tell he has years of experience under his tool belt, and knew exactly what I wanted. He got back to me within the same day and scheduled an appointment for the next day.

*Considering that some companies and contractors didn't have the professinalism or decency to call me back or wouldn't show up to our meeting, we were already off to a great start.

Then here comes the best part - compared to the other estimates/bids I got, Edmar's was the most straight forward and cost efficient as opposed to the competition. Not only that, but I felt at ease choosing them given how long they've been in the business. And even at a decent price, they did some 5-star quality work, I was very impressed.

The guys who did the work were all professional and they left the work site spotless each day.  Very satisfied with their work. I'll certainly be using them again when I need more repairs on my building, and would highly recommend to friends, family, and fellow Yelpers.  - 7/12/2013

Elizabeth E. Avatar
Elizabeth E.

5 star rating We have a small house.  Sometimes it feels like tradesmen are not very interested in taking our business.  However, Ed made me feel like a valued customer.  Because we wanted to do some foundation planting before it got too cold, Ed scheduled us only about 10 days after we signed the deal.  They did a terrific job for a better price than the other quotes I got.  They even did some extra work at no charge to remove some paint off the brick where a gutter used to hang.  A couple of neighbors stopped to complement us on how great the house looked.  Then, my customer satisfaction got even better.  We had a storm a couple days after the tuckpointing was done.  The front gate post is bolted onto the front of the house and that cedar fence post snapped off.  Of course they had not tuckpointed behind the fence post, so now that much lighter mortar color was exposed.  So they came back at no charge within a week and tuckpointed that spot.  I have never written a Yelp review before, but I want to express how pleased I am.  This small house got treated like a big deal (which it is to me).  - 10/10/2014

Antonio R. Avatar
Antonio R.

5 star rating Top Notch Masonry Contractor. Had a new Chimney rebuilt from the roof up.  The Crews were professional and we're  highly skilled tradesmen.  Reasonable price especially for the difficulty of getting onto the roof.  Ed the owner was also great to work with in the contractual process.  Top Notch Company!  I will definitely use them again for future projects.  - 3/22/2017

Roberto G. Avatar
Roberto G.

5 star rating Truly one of the most honest men I have ever met.  Me and my family will be using and recommending Ed for all our masonry needs.  I don't write many reviews unless I am truly impressed or truly disappointed and luckily I wasn't disappointed.  - 4/14/2015

Bill C. Avatar
Bill C.

4 star rating I couldn't be happier with Edmar corporation.  He gave me a quote on the extensive brick work my 2 flat needed. It was a fair price and the work was done professionally and promptly.  - 8/30/2016

Clara S. Avatar
Clara S.

5 star rating I had Edmar Corporation do work on my house in Glenview in the summer of 2012, and I was very satisfied with their services.  Ed came out to give me an estimate and was very detailed about what needed to be done.  I had some lintel replaced and they rebuilt the chimney which looked like it was about to collapse. The new brick matched the old one perfectly, which I was pleased with.  Great job from start to finish, I would definitely recommend them.  - 6/07/2013

Brett S. Avatar
Brett S.

5 star rating These guys did a great job on my chimney.  Punctual and fast.  Would hire them again in a heartbeat!  - 8/28/2017

Brian K. Avatar
Brian K.

3 star rating I would give closer to 3 1/2 stars if I could.  I was pleased with the work that was completed.  I had 4 other companies come to give me quotes on tuckpointing my house on all sides and they were the most competitive and in line with what I was looking for.  My complaint is more with the communication aspect of things.  Everything was good up until I sent the contract in.  I had asked when they might be able to start when first sending the contract in and was told probably the next week.  I heard nothing for the next week.  I sent an email and asked again, being told they would let me know asap.  I heard nothing for the next week and a half.  I sent another email saying that if I could not find out when they would be able to come out, I would start looking for another contractor.  I then heard back that it would likely be in 2-3 weeks.  The next morning, people showed up outside my door.  Fortunately, that ended up working out fine but there appears to be a lack of communication between people in the front office.  I was called twice by people after the project was finished to find out how I wanted to pay my balance as well.  So long story short, service good, communication needs some improvement.  - 7/27/2016

Ross U. Avatar
Ross U.

5 star rating I usually do a lot of research before I let someone touch my home. After talking to a few tuck pointing companies it was obvious that Edmar Corporation was the one.

Ed came to our home and I knew by his body language and his confidence that my project was going to go smooth. I am 59 years old and have been around the block a few times and can usually tell if something isn't right about a person and their company.

I gladly signed the contract and a couple of weeks later his crew came out and did an excellent job on my home. They were all business when they came. Got right down to working immediately. No Smoking , No Bullshitting, No goofing around . Just very professional and extremely hard working. All the areas were spotless when they left. They respected my home. Can't ask for much more than that.

I never take the time to write this kind of stuff.  But I am so happy with their work that i want to tell the world.  - 8/17/2013

S K. Avatar
S K.

5 star rating If it were possible to give more than 5 stars, I would!  We had to reconstruct our brick and wrought iron fence after the garbage truck relocated it to the ground.  It wasn't a huge project and many of the masonry companies we called wouldn't even come and give an estimate because "it wasn't worth it". We found Edmar on yelp and the experience was awesome from start to finish.

When I called to schedule an estimate, Ed came to my house within 48 hours and arrived at exactly the time he said he would arrive.  He thoroughly inspected the damage and found other damage that other masons had completely missed.  We were provided a written estimate on the spot.  When I called Ed to give the go ahead a few days later, he was able to get our job done that week.  Once again, he arrived with his crew at exactly the time he had provided.  The job was done perfectly within one day.  

Unfortunately, it is hard to find honest and trustworthy companies in construction.  Edmar Corp. breaks every stereotype.  Quality work and excellent service!! If you need masonry work, don't even both to call around - Just call Edmar.  - 10/12/2014

Tom O. Avatar
Tom O.

5 star rating I called Ed and he came within the same day and after careful examining the

the chimney he gave his estimate which was very straight forward, less expensive then the others and his attitude made me feel we were already off to a great start.  He even asked me if I would like to go with him to choose the brick type, color which I did. The guys who did the work were all professional and Ed himself stopped by every day to check the work.

If you want the work done correctly and with a reasonable price, you cannot go wrong with him. All my neighbors, even people just passing by make compliments

and asked me who did the work.

Again, Ed thank you.  - 8/01/2013

Linda Q. Avatar
Linda Q.

5 star rating My husband and I bought a foreclosure on Newcastle and needed to do some work. In order to attain inside look of the kitchen we wanted, we needed to brick some windows in and maybe move the door and also repair the chimney.

I called a few companies on yelp and in discussing quote and scope of work, Edmar came out ahead, the owner met with my husband, he showed up very prepared with his ladder and binoculos to take a close look at the chimey and he had very great ideas as to which windows he will suggest we brick in and what to do with the door, he gave us a lot to think about in a good way, he also gave us the quote on site, who does that, it was fabulous, since we had previously talked to other companies, we felt good enough to sign the contract and have them start work immediately.

He suggested replacing more than just the first few layers of the chimney and pointed out that the old ones will crumble soon underneath the new one. He moved our back door from off the kitchen to off the family room which we like so much better because we have more cabinet space now and he used some of the brick from the new opening to patch the old opening. He also tried his best to match the old brick, he did a pretty good job, so much that you wouldnt really know it from the outside unless it was pointed out.

His guys were in and out in a jiffy. point is, although he wasn't the cheapest, he was the most thoughtful and we felt his job was quality without a doubt.

He also did some crack repairs on the outside of our property, he removed the bricks and relayed them with morter, patching everything. The only thing was that there are some morter stains on a few bricks in that one area where they repaired the cracks that my husband is not happy about, and he point it out every day now. Eitherway, I will still give them 5 stars.  - 6/27/2014

Andy W. Avatar
Andy W.

5 star rating These guys came thru. After some problems getting the work completed they came back out and finished the work as well as some additional brick replacements.

Based on their good faith effort to make things right I would recommend.  - 10/05/2017

Jakub P. Avatar
Jakub P.

5 star rating I used Edmar Corporation a few years ago to fix up my home in the north suburbs and was very pleased with their work. I reviewed a number of companies and eventually settled on Edmar as they were clearly the most knowledgeable and the most experienced. I've found out the hard way that it's not always best to go with the cheapest proposal...had some contractors rebuild my chimney a while back only to have the mortar crack 5 years later (!!!) Edmar was not the cheapest, but you definitely get what you pay for, and when it comes to home repair, you want the job done right.

I called to set up an appointment and Ed stopped by the next day to give me an estimate. I had some cracked bricks above my first story window and turns out the lintels needed to be replaced. Ed outlined how the job would be done and gave me an approximate amount of time it would take to complete (Turns out, he was right on target!) They replaced the lintels and rebuilt part of the wall using the same face brick as the rest of the house so it looked perfect. I cannot praise his workers enough--they were very competent, super respectful, and took the time to answer all of my questions.

I will definitely be using Edmar again in the future. If you want the job done right the first time around, Edmar is your go to!  - 10/16/2013

Tania M. Avatar
Tania M.

5 star rating Edmar Corp replaced the front brick of our property this summer. Not only did Ed provide us a reasonable estimate but he was patient while we found the perfect brick.  Ed met with my husband a number of times throughout the project and addressed any concerns we had. We are beyond pleased not only with the end result but with the professionalism of his employees. The area was kept clean and organized. The project took longer than expected but it was so worth it!  - 9/20/2017

Ellen P. Avatar
Ellen P.

5 star rating I am a case manager who works with people with disabilities and one of my clients needed her roof repaired due to a big hole and her ceiling was starting to cave in. My client and her siblings, also with impairments, were so happy with John from Edmar and selected him right off the bat, even though his estimate was higher than the other estimate they received. Edmar wound up giving them a discount, which made the cost come down a bit, which made the client happy. Not only did John and his crew offer to fix the roof, they were able to fix other things in the home, such as putting in drywall and painting the ceiling to seal the crack, installing two new light fixtures and two smoke detectors, installing a new screen door and fixing an old garage door that would not close properly and covering some holes in the wall.  We asked John if he could select/purchase the light fixture/smoke detector and factor the cost into the contract, which he was able to accommodate, which made it so much more convenient for the client, who would have needed help to do such. While the work was being done, the client kept asking John for other things that they wanted fixed, which he did even though they were not in the contract.  The other things were paid for separately, but this goes to show the company's ability to accommodate people with disabilities who do not understand how these things usually work.  As her case manager, I am grateful for his patience, sense of humor and treatment of them as any other individual and for not taking advantage of them, as others might have done in this situation (and have done in the past).  In my opinion, he and his crew went above and beyond and the client is very happy with the work and plan to use him again in the future, as I would.  - 5/10/2017

David D. Avatar
David D.

5 star rating Without question the best experience I have ever had with any contractor, Ed is direct and honest; no surprises. I rarely write reviews unless I am really impressed. City inspectors came and identified issues with the tuck-pointing and window lintels so I did some calling around to get some estimates. Ed showed up right on time for the appointment which was much appreciated. Also I made a point of not saying anything about what the inspectors had said to see what he would see. Ed pointed our word for word what the inspectors had seen. He took the time to explain to me exactly why one lintel would need to be replace and not another. He also showed me where bricks would need to be replaced, and where not. Finally he showed me where the tuck-pointing would need to be completely done and where it could be touched up. Most importantly, my building is red brick, and need a special mixture strength, Ed was on point. The windows which are the most difficult part on the work were completed in two days, and a third day to finish the tuck-pointing. The guys work like a well-oiled machine, the work fast and the building looks brand new. I cannot express how happy I am with the experience and the completed work. I will be calling them in the future for other jobs and will gladly refer them to my friends, family, and neighbors.  - 7/20/2015

Cassie M. Avatar
Cassie M.

5 star rating Peter and crew were very professional and did an excellent job installing a new sliding glass door for us. The install included fixing some siding and adding new insulation and drywall. Throughout the entire process I felt I could trust this company to do what they say. They did not let me down. Would hire them again.  - 8/15/2016

Gene P. Avatar
Gene P.

5 star rating We had some cracks in the masonry on our building, it wasn't a big job but Ed came by to take a look anyway. Compared to all the other contractors that stopped by, Ed gave the most information about why we have the issue and how it would be repaired. He also gave us the estimate right away. The price was great, but we had to wait a couple weeks since it was busy season and our project was small.

Ed's team finally came by a week ago, and the job was done thoroughly. Everything looks great and they cleaned up afterwards. The price and quality was great, we'll definitely work with Edmar Corp in the future. Thanks Ed!  - 9/30/2015

Dema D. Avatar
Dema D.

5 star rating I decided to hire Edmar based on excellent Yelp reviews and I was not disappointed. The work I hired him for was to repair my chimney on our house in Northbrook. Ed came out to give me an estimate and, like other yelpers have mentioned, it was clear that Edmar was very experienced in this line of work. Compared to other bids, the estimate was less expensive and did not tag on any additional charges.  Ultimately, I decided to rebuild the chimney which took about 2 days.  The masons were respectful of our property and cleaned up afterwards.  They did a great job and I've already recommended them to my neighbors!  - 4/07/2014

Jargren S. Avatar
Jargren S.

5 star rating I just have to say the work, the crew,  and Ed were wonderful. Their quality of work and maintaining the job site in an orderly and clean matter were second to none. They not only rebuilt my chimney but also tuck pointed the front face of my dad's house.  - 11/12/2017

Dan P. Avatar
Dan P.

5 star rating I had Edmar rebuild a portion of my parapet wall.  I had gotten quite a few recommendations and estimates from different local companies.  Ed and Peter with Edmar came out and gave some great improvement suggestions that other companies did not, in addition to providing a reasonable estimate on the spot.  I felt comfortable and trusting in Ed and my wife and I decided to use Edmar.

Ed was easy to get ahold of and didn't make you feel like he rushing to get you off the phone.  Scheduling was clear with Jennifer in the office, who is very nice and professional, and the on-site foreman quickly took care of the neighbor's concerns about their fence without hesitation.  

The crew performed quality brick work and I look forward to using Ed and Edmar again in the near future to handle our other parapet issues, as budget allows.

It is very nice to have an owner give a written warranty with their estimate and stand behind their work, be so easy to get ahold of and so knowledgeable as well.  You don't come across this often enough it seems.

We look forward to using Edmar again!  - 6/09/2017

Melissa H. Avatar
Melissa H.

5 star rating This company fixed some stairs for a customer of mine.  They were quick to contact customer as it was a closing issue contigent on this getting fixed.  Price was reasonable and completed within a reasonable time frame.  Customer was satisfied and so were we.  Thank you!  Melissa Hollander Storage and Moving  - 10/13/2015